Happy Birthday – Self Designing Patterns

12 May

A lot of the cross stitch patterns I use are from magazines, books and kits. I do, however, want to start designing my own patterns to sew which does prove to be very difficult for someone like me with very little artistic talent. I have had a go at it though, and this was the pattern I came up with for a birthday card (admittedly using one or two alphabet designs dotted about in my stash to help):

I used the internet to find all the different translations for “Happy Birthday” – on a side note it did amaze me how long the phrase “Happy Birthday” is in pretty much every language. Particularly German for some reason hence why I opted not to use that language in the design. It did take a while for me to squeeze several phrases onto my page of squared paper, but I am happy with the outcome.

The languages I’ve used are:

Happy Birthday – English

Penblywydd Hapus – Welsh

Bon Anniversaire – French

Iyi Ki Dogdun – Turkish

Buon Compleanno – Italian

Parabens – Portugese

If for any reason my translations are incorrect I do apologise; the only language I am fluent in is English. If they are wrong please blame Google search, not me o:-)

I have also designed a “Thankyou” card in the same theme as this pattern, but I have yet to get that one stitched for a tester.

I’m also planning on designing a “Merry Christmas” one.

Keep crafting 😉

4 Responses to “Happy Birthday – Self Designing Patterns”

  1. Maria September 10, 2012 at 04:47 #

    Oh my gosh, I love how you designed this one! This inspired me to make a similar birthday card for my special someone. What size of Aida cloth did you use? I hope you do make more and share them with us!

    • awpotdc November 13, 2012 at 10:34 #

      Hey, thanks for commenting and sorry it’s taken me so long to respond 🙂
      I’m glad you liked it. I ended up stitching it on 14 count aida simply because this is my favourite size to stitch on. I’ve stitched it a few times again since then. It’s nice knowing you put the effort in to put the design together isn’t it?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thank You – Self Designing Patterns « Handmade by V J Parsons » A blog about cross stitch and cards - November 13, 2012

    […] may remember a few months ago I posted about a design I’d drawn up for a “Happy Birthday” card using different colours and alphabet designs that said “Happy Birthday” in […]

  2. Thank You – Self Designing Patterns « Handmade by V J Parsons » A blog about cross stitch and cards - December 6, 2012

    […] may remember a few months ago I posted about a design I’d drawn up for a “Happy Birthday” card using different colours and alphabet designs that said “Happy Birthday” in several […]

Leave a Reply

