Silver Wedding Invites

2 May

It’s my parents 25th Wedding Anniversary this December, and my mother has decided that she wants to throw a garden party (early, in the summer as opposed to winter) as a celebration. If you know my parents you know this is cause to get excited, as their garden parties are pretty epic 🙂

My mother was talking about buying some invites to send out to everyone invited, and I had to point out that she could save a fortune by making them herself (she wanted some 50 invited and the ones she liked in the shop were £2.99 for 6). As my mum suffers with MS, she asked me to help her do this (my mum ended up refusing to do anything except measure and cut things I needed), and this was the result of a whole afternoons work:

We went for a silver and white theme, as it is for a silver wedding party, and my mother is very into simple yet stylish, and I think these cards sum her personality up perfectly.

The word ‘invitation’ was added using a stamp with silver ink, and I don’t know how it ended up straight all 58 times I stamped it, but it did. The ribbon was attached using double sided sticky tape, and does a complete loop around the inside and outside of the card, and the two little hearts are simple adhesive gems to save us fiddling around with glue and getting ourselves all sticky.

We wound up spending around £25 on supplies to make these invites, and we still have stuff left over in case my mum wants any more conjured up. If she’d gone ahead and bought the ones she liked in the shop (which she admitted to me later she didn’t like as much as the ones we made) we’d have spent around £30, and there would have been no guarantee she’d have been able to get more of the same if she needed more. They didn’t have enough in the shop for the numbers she wanted them in anyway.

I guess the moral of this story is handmade over shop bought any day. It was my first attempt at mass producing any kind of creative work. I tend to make things once then not make them again for a while, if ever again, but I did enjoy doing this. Once I got into the rhythm of putting these cards together I got faster and faster; it only took us around two and a half hours of actual crafting to put them together. It did take my mother about an hour to decide what she actually wanted though.

Make it yourself, don’t go and buy it just because it’s easier. You might surprise yourself 🙂

2 Responses to “Silver Wedding Invites”

  1. Catherine Burden (@AlwaysARedhead) May 2, 2012 at 20:45 #

    I totally agree handmade is far better than those bought from the shop. Nice job!

    • awpotdc November 13, 2012 at 11:00 #

      Thanks 🙂 The party ended up being a success. I’m glad I persuaded my mum to make her own invites 🙂

Leave a Reply

