Octopus – Self Designing Patterns

3 Apr

A while back for a friend’s birthday I decided (as she’s a keen marine biologist and was doiing her dissertation on cuttlefish) that for her 21st birthday I’d stitch her a card with an octopus on it; an octupus being the closest thing to a cuttlefish I could think of.


Cross Stitch

At the time, I couldn’t find any octopus patterns I liked, so the cross stitch pattern I used I ended up designing myself. Graph paper is simply fabulous for copying and designing patterns on.

For this one, I used the basic shape of a balloon pattern I had or the octopus head, and added eyes and a backstitched mouth, then the legs drawn randomly extending from the base of the balloon. It took a while for me to get an octopus I was happy with, but I’m very happy with the final result.

Card Layout

I opted to embellish the card simply (I seem to do that a lot don’t I?) by layering the stitch onto a square of patterned paper which was patterned to look like the ocean, then layered again onto a blue card. The two foam fish stickers (from a pack from Accessorize) add to the underwater theme of the card.

I haven’t actually used this pattern again since I stitched it the first time, and I honestly have no reasons as to why not. I’m not very confident at designing my own cross stitch designs; I tend to use a lot from magazines and books. I am quite happy adapting them to suit my own personal needs, but I don’t really have any artistic talent whatsoever, and this does put me off designing patterns.

This is probably the only cross stitch I have ever done using an original design, and I would like to make a lot more cards this way, rather than borrowing other peoples’ ideas.

I just don’t think I’m creative enough to be able to do it 😦

Leave a Reply

